Day 9–Music that Prompts the Muse


AS I write this post the only music I hear is the sound of the city buses roaring down our street. I don’t need music to write, but I like having music when I write. WHY?

I feel that listening to the right music while writing helps me not be distracted by the other things going on around me. Music puts me in the zone I want to be in while I write. Also, music inspires, music is creation that can motivate us to create.

For example, how could I not be motivated by a line such as this one by Neko Case, “Can’t scrape together quite enough
to ride the bus to the outskirts
of the fact that I need love.”

Find musicians with lyrics that inspire you and motivate you to write. A lot of songs are like short stories or poems, and subconsciously you become a better writer as you let them sink in.

Also, the actual instrumental aspect of the music can prompt your muse. It’s definitely a matter of personal choice, jazz, indie, reggae, classical, folk, they all can be what the writer needs to write.

Here’s a list of my favorite albums to write to:

  • Andrew Bird- Armchair Apocrypha
  • Belle & Sebastian- The Boy with the Arab Strap
  • All Bob Marley
  • Charles Mingus- Mingus Ah Um
  • Fleet Foxes- Fleet Foxes
  • Jack Johnson
  • Neko Case- Middle Cyclone
  • Pete, Bjorn and John- Writer’s Block
  • Radiohead- In Rainbows

These are a few of my regular choices.

So tell me, what Moves your Muse?

Writing Prompt- Choose a favorite song and write a poem that includes your favorite line from the song.

1 Comment

Filed under music, writing

One response to “Day 9–Music that Prompts the Muse

  1. I love Neko Case! Sometimes it’s the lyrics that get me, and at those times I listen to Bob Dylan, Mumford and Sons, Jakob Dylan, etc. But then there are those times when the music alone is enough to inspire great stories and metaphors. Like the beginning of U2’s “Where the Streets Have No Name” and Needtobreathe’s “Won’t Turn Back.”
    William Styron said, “I don’t think that I would have been able to write a single word had it not been for music as a force in my life.” Truer words were never spoken.

Leave a Reply

